Charlottesville Community Engagement
Charlottesville Community Engagement
March 20, 2024: Podcast version of most of the last two newsletters
0:00
-26:28

March 20, 2024: Podcast version of most of the last two newsletters

The first in what be could be a decoupling of the podcast from the written version of the podcast

Since I first began this newsletter in July 2020, I’ve published almost all of the regular newsletters concurrently with the podcast version. The Charlottesville Quarantine Report was something I started on March 15, 2020 as an experiment on a day when I wasn’t a journalist as the world was about to change. In 1995, my first professional work was as an intern at WVTF Public Radio.

I’ve always worked like a radio reporter. I love to work with sound, and even in the days I was at Charlottesville Tomorrow, I used audio software to do my work. I had always wanted to experiment with sonic versions of stories, but I was not in charge.

Want to learn audio production? I have a lot to learn, too. Doing the radio show is making me appreciate the craft more, and I’m grateful to WTJU for the opportunity.

Now, I’m the sole proprietor of a company I set up to do this work. At the base of it, I want to write up as much as I can about what’s happening so more people might have an understanding and an account of decision-making processes. Since the beginning, the podcast and the newsletter have been published together.

Since beginning to do a radio version that airs Saturday morning at 6 a.m. on WTJU 91.1 FM, I’ve realized that I’m taking the podcast version for granted. I’ve been using a lot of filters to do the hard work of editing for me, and as a result the sound quality suffered. Working with my colleague at WTJU, I’ve realized I have to begin producing the sonic version with more aural scrutiny.

At the same time, I’ve been having a weird audio glitch on my primary narration recording computer, one that cost me valuable time.

Most people read the newsletter rather than listen to the audio. But, yet, I know there are many of you who listen to the podcast. I would like more people who just read to listen, because I think what I do rivals anyone else doing local radio. I say that as a friendly competitor, because I really just want people to know things.

In any case, it’s time now to post this and get ready for the new set of stories. This podcast covers what I classify internally as CCE-649 and CCE-650 and carries the working title “Brain Breaking Necessary Decision” because a person who works by themselves depends on in-jokes to keep morale up.

In this edition:

  • Albemarle County Board of Supervisors interrupt a meeting on the Comprehensive Plan to declare a state of emergency related to over a dozen wildfires, and evacuation orders have been issued for some parts of Albemarle and Louisa

  • Charlottesville City Schools appoint a new principal for Charlottesville High School

  • Charlottesville City Council goes through changes in revenues and spending in City Manager Sam Sanders’ FY25 budget

  • The city’s finance director briefs Council on the use of American Rescue Plan Act funds with an eye toward shifting unspent funds to other projects 

  • Charlottesville City Council gets some follow-up answers to some budget questions

I am looking for feedback. This and every other Town Crier Productions production is an experiment and I depend on those who have come to appreciate the work to tell me what they think.

Charlottesville Community Engagement is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Charlottesville Community Engagement
Charlottesville Community Engagement
Regular updates of what's happening in local and regional government in and around Charlottesville, Virginia from an award-winning journalist with nearly thirty years of experience.